Tags

, , , , ,

Sharp Objects

Without a doubt I am a fan of Gillian Flynn.

Ever since the massively popular “Gone Girl” I have been on the hunt for the author’s previous novels.

I stumbled upon the her debut novel at a local Value Village, and I immediately started reading it as soon as I got home.

The book tells the story of newspaper reporter Camille Preaker, who is called to investigate a string of murders that may be committed by a serial killer.  What makes this investigation interesting is it all takes place back in her hometown that she left years prior.

Throughout the book we learn more about Camille’s family history, the reasons behind leaving her hometown as well as the dark secret of emotionally cutting herself.

Little does she know by revisiting her past will lead her to the killer.

