Tags

, , , , ,

Cinder

I was a huge Sailor Moon fan, the show practically defined my teenage years.

So when I learned Marissa Meyer’s “Cinder” will have elements of my fave TV show, I was instantly intrigued.

The book is a re-telling of the classic Cinderella story, but with a very modern and futuristic feel.  Instead of being portrayed as a simple peasant girl, Cinder is a headstrong young woman – part human, part machine.

Yes, she is a cyborg working as a mechanic in New Beijing – a future in which China has become the superpower country in the world, governed by a monarchy.

A chance encounter with Prince Kai sets in motion events that will lead Cinder to discover her true history and identity in the world.  If you have watched any Sailor Moon episodes, you can pretty much guess where the story will take you but it is nonetheless riveting when the reveal happens.

The book ends on a cliffhanger, a clear indication this is the first in a series of re-imagined classic heroines.  I for one cannot wait for what’s to come next.